Ten district councillors unseated over invalid oaths

Ten more district councillors were disqualified on Wednesday after their oaths of allegiance to the SAR were ruled invalid.

Those losing their seats include former Democratic Party lawmaker James To and barrister Lawrence Lau, who’s been charged with violating the national security law.

Besides To, four Democratic Party members were also unseated, including vice chairwoman Edith Leung.

The oath administrator, Home Affairs Secretary Caspar Tsui, asked the 10 to submit further information after the oath-taking ceremony last Friday, casting doubts about their validity.

In a statement, the government said they were disqualified after taking into consideration their written replies and all relevant information.

A total of 55 councillors from Yau Tsim Mong, Sham Shui Po, Kowloon City, Wong Tai Sin and Kwun Tong took the oaths, of which 45 were ruled valid.

Earlier this month, 24 district councillors from Hong Kong Island took part in an oath-taking ceremony, with seven of them stripped of their seats after their oaths were declared invalid.

Meanwhile, the government announced a third batch of councillors – from North District, Tai Po, Sai Kung and Sha Tin – will take the oath next Monday.
Last updated: 2021-09-29 HKT 20:13