Councillors in Kowloon next up for government oaths

More district councillors will pledge their allegiance to the SAR this week, the government said on Monday.

Remaining members of the Yau Tsim Mong, Sham Shui Po, Kowloon City, Wong Tai Sin and Kwun Tong district councils have been told to take the oath at North Point Community Hall on September 24.

“The government will publish the list of district council members whose oaths were determined as valid after the oath-taking ceremony,” a statement said.

“As for district council members whose oaths taken are questioned by the oath administrator as to their validity, the oath administrator will follow up in accordance with the relevant legislation.”

Last week, the government rejected the pledges made by seven Hong Kong Island district councillors and disqualified them from office. Another member was ousted after deciding not to take the oath.

More than half of the territory’s district councillors had already resigned before the oath-taking requirement came into effect, with several others disqualified after either leaving Hong Kong or ending up behind bars.