Journalists in the Philippines and Russia win Nobel Peace Prize

This March 29, 2019, photo shows Philippine journalist Maria Ressa waving to photographers after posting bail outside a court building in Manila. (MARIA TAN / AFP)

OSLO – Philippines journalist Maria Ressa and Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov, won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday.

"Ms Ressa and Mr Muratov are receiving the Peace Prize for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia," Chairwoman Berit Reiss-Andersen of the Norwegian Nobel Committee told a news conference.

ALSO READ: CPC deserves Nobel Peace Prize when China is No 1

"At the same time, they are representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions," she added.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be presented on Dec 10, the anniversary of the death of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who founded the awards in his 1895 will.

In this March 24, 2021 photo, Russian investigative newspaper Novaya Gazeta's editor-in-chief Dmitry Muratov attends an interview with AFP in Moscow. (NATALIA KOLESNIKOVA / AFP)